The 7,107 islands that make up the Philippine archipelago are grouped into three geographical divisions: Luzon, Mindanao and the Visayas. Consisting of the major islands of Panay, Negros, Cebu, Bohol, Leyte, Samar, Romblon, Masbate, and Palawan, the Visayas make up the central part of the Philippines with the primary spoken language of Visayan (Cebuano). When I served in the U.S. Peace Corps from 2004-2006, I was assigned to work in the Visayas at the Silliman University in Dumaguete. In total I’ve spent more than three years living and traveling around the Visayan region, so many of the photos in my library from the Philippines have a lot of Visayan shots. This photo gallery includes many of my favorite Visayan photos from some of the most spectacular tropical islands in the region as well as underwater photography from the Visayan coral reefs.